Marko, check out this: <link removed by moderator - leads to a malicious site> .This link was sent to me on Facebook from 8 different friends,,it promises a "free" ipad,,all you do is send a review on how you like it. Check out the WOT rating ,it never goes above RED !!!!
Check this Out
Started by Claw, Jan 20 2012 08:37 PM
2 replies to this topic
#1
Posted 20 January 2012 - 08:37 PM
#2
Posted 20 January 2012 - 10:24 PM
Thanks for removing the link,I didn't know how to go about something like that. Anyway,,I warned my friends on Facebook of what WOT said and told them to install WOT and see for them selves about the Phishing and other accusations. Guess what ?? About an hour later the link is "GONE". What do you make of that????
#3
Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:22 AM
Hey Claw - I'd say enough complaints have filtered through for FB to sit up and take notice. 
BTW: The link you posted was not only flagged RED by WOT, clicking on it also initiated a malicious site warning from Avast - not good!!
FB is generally as safe as any other site, provided of course users employ a common sense approach. The problem lies largely with FB's immense popularity making it a desirable target for dishonest people, that and users propensity for just clicking around with gay abandon. If one configures FB's settings for maximum privacy, does not agree to share personal information with apps, etc., and simply treats all links with extreme caution, one can generally use FB without any problems.
Cheers...Jim
BTW: The link you posted was not only flagged RED by WOT, clicking on it also initiated a malicious site warning from Avast - not good!!
FB is generally as safe as any other site, provided of course users employ a common sense approach. The problem lies largely with FB's immense popularity making it a desirable target for dishonest people, that and users propensity for just clicking around with gay abandon. If one configures FB's settings for maximum privacy, does not agree to share personal information with apps, etc., and simply treats all links with extreme caution, one can generally use FB without any problems.
Cheers...Jim
Jim Hillier - Managing editor Daves Computer Tips.com
Similar Topics
Check out the summary for TwekNow HD-AnalyzerStarted by James (Jim) Hillier, 13 Apr 2012 |
|
|
||
Spell-Check Problems On FreewareBBStarted by marko, 11 Jan 2012 |
|
|
||
Poll What's the first thing you check after switching on the computer?Started by marko, 07 Mar 2012 |
|
|
||
![]() |
Xmas Giveaways: A selection of giveaways for you to check outStarted by James (Jim) Hillier, 17 Dec 2011 |
|
|
|
Check hard drive health and performance with HD TuneStarted by James (Jim) Hillier, 21 Jan 2011 |
|
|
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users
















