Jump to content


F Notepad ??


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Claw

Claw

    Platinum Poster!

  • Advanced Member
  • 931 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 05:04 PM

I was just wondering if maybe you could tell me what exactly was malicious about F Notepad 1.1.0 ?? :huh:

#2 James (Jim) Hillier

James (Jim) Hillier

    Platinum Poster!

  • Super Mod
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:01 PM

Hey Claw - The site from which this software originates is malicious, if you have the necessary security programs installed you can't even get to the site - blocked by WOT, blocked by Avast.
Jim Hillier - Managing editor Daves Computer Tips.com

#3 marko

marko

    Platinum Poster!

  • Root Admin
  • 26,204 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:24 PM

Just beat me to it Jimbo - the URL of the developers website was fualt.tk, which redirects as per screenshot ....

17-01-2012 21-27-26.png

Please remember that we have people from many different timezones on the site and if your post requires a reply it could take longer at some at some points because of this.  

Forums
New Freeware on the site
Updated Freeware on the site
RSS Subscribe
Report bad freeware here


#4 Claw

Claw

    Platinum Poster!

  • Advanced Member
  • 931 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:30 PM

Thanks Jim,,it was one of those curiuos ,,need to know things. But I tell you what ,,a pal of mine read all the Wot forums we had and he tried something I just had to fix!!!! He looked up a BBW porn site and WOT had it rated "green",,so he went on it and it took him to another site,,and still no warning the al lof a sudden "Fake Virus" popped up. He called me and I took care of it,,just finished running  McAfee Stinger,,just to be sure. So,,,I'm pretty sure he'll be joining FreewareBB just to mouth his opinion!!!! :ireful:

#5 Claw

Claw

    Platinum Poster!

  • Advanced Member
  • 931 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:31 PM

Man,,,you guys are"GOOD" !!!

#6 marko

marko

    Platinum Poster!

  • Root Admin
  • 26,204 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:48 PM

That info actually came from another user on the site, and I can't for the life of me remember who it was now - but whoever it was, thanks a million for the info - hopefully saved a few other users a bit of grief :)

Please remember that we have people from many different timezones on the site and if your post requires a reply it could take longer at some at some points because of this.  

Forums
New Freeware on the site
Updated Freeware on the site
RSS Subscribe
Report bad freeware here


#7 James (Jim) Hillier

James (Jim) Hillier

    Platinum Poster!

  • Super Mod
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:49 PM

Claw - Please tell your friend that there is no such animal as a 'safe' porn site - regardless of ratings. This is a case where WOT may in fact be correct and the actual site may indeed be safe. The problem is that porn sites are among the most often targeted for 'drive-by' attacks.

Also, please introduce your friend to Sandboxie. If he must surf around porn sites, at least by utilizing Sandboxie he can do so in relative safety.

http://www.freewarebb.com/files/file/5259-sandboxie/

Cheers mate...Jim
Jim Hillier - Managing editor Daves Computer Tips.com

#8 marko

marko

    Platinum Poster!

  • Root Admin
  • 26,204 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:52 PM

I'd say he needs a girlfriend more than a sandbox - could become real confusing :man_in_love:

Please remember that we have people from many different timezones on the site and if your post requires a reply it could take longer at some at some points because of this.  

Forums
New Freeware on the site
Updated Freeware on the site
RSS Subscribe
Report bad freeware here


#9 Claw

Claw

    Platinum Poster!

  • Advanced Member
  • 931 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 10:35 PM

Ne's going to love reading those comments :rofl: . But anyway ,,he actually did it as an experiment to see what the rating would be. He said he needed to know after reading our forum. e also did it with a music site that WOT rated green but when it took him to another site a "Warning" covered the page,,but on the x-rated site  ,,no warning came up. He's just one of those "strange" people who if you say something is "too high",,he's dumb enough to jump off to find out. I did say he's a friend,,NOT a relative,,right???? :man_in_love:

#10 James (Jim) Hillier

James (Jim) Hillier

    Platinum Poster!

  • Super Mod
  • 1,082 posts

Posted 17 January 2012 - 10:36 PM

View Postmarko, on 17 January 2012 - 09:52 PM, said:

I'd say he needs a girlfriend more than a sandbox - could become real confusing :man_in_love:

LOL
Jim Hillier - Managing editor Daves Computer Tips.com



Similar Topics




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users